Photograph by Kerry-Ann Hamilton/Marquis Gibson and Phelisha Midy, ASB-Haiti co-coordinators, work on foundation for the Microfinance Bank being built by the Haitian American Caucus in Croix Des Bouquets, Haiti.

For me, ASB Haiti means going beyond the call of duty to be of service to someone else. It reminds me, and other people who embark on service projects there, that service learning is needed across the globe. It’s so significant because there are many disparities in terms of education, economics and the environment, that can eliminated and our presence in various areas are small steps at eliminating them. The impact, especially in Haiti, is powerful especially as African-Americans because the communities that we aim to help are exposed to student-servants that look like them. As a co-coordinator of the ASB Haiti 2012 trip, the trip was my way of keeping my promise to the commitment I made last year, which was to continue to help people of Haiti. I worked specifically with the construction and after-school programs at HAC-Haiti; it was an excellent way to continue my promise.”

